THE BASIC FACTS FOR ANYONE CAUGHT DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF MARIJUANA
Can you drive while high on marijuana in the state of Washington? The answer is no, yes marijuana is legal for recreational use, but it also comes with strict laws. As of 2014, if you are 21 years old or older, you can purchase medical marijuana for recreational uses. You are only allowed to have 1 ounce on your person.
You are permitted to offer the marijuana you buy to others; but, you are not allowed to sell it anytime for a profit. This is against the law. You have to use the marijuana in your home. You are not authorized to smoke it freely in public places, nor are you permitted to drive under the influence of it either.
If you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol here in Washington, you will be issued with a DUI. What type of penalty will you be facing? It all depends on the severity of what you have been caught with. The offense can be met with anything from a small fine and revoking the license to jail time. Let’s have a look down below.
1)If you are 21 years of age and older, your BAC(Blood Alcohol Level)has to be at a 0.08%.
2)If you are driving a commercial vehicle, with a BAC at 0.04%
3)If you are 21 years of age or younger, the limit is set to 0.02%.
Now, you can receive separate notifications for the same DUI situation. If you are arrested for the DUI, your license will be taken away. It will be suspended starting from 60 days after the arrest. Mow depending on the severity, you could have your license suspended for at least 90 days to 2 years.
WHAT ABOUT THE COURTS
Your case could be severe enough to warrant court time. Once you reach the courts, your fate could have other determining factors. Mostly, though, the charges will be as followed:
1)If your BAC level is up to or beyond the 0.15% range, you could face a license suspension up to 90 days. You could also face jail time anywhere from 1 day to 1 year. The fines could range anywhere from $940-5,000.
2)If the levels or beyond 0.15% you could face jail time from 2 days to 1 year. Your license could also be suspended for one year.
If you refuse to take the test, things will get worse. Take the above scenarios and double them.
MARIJUANA LAWS: WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
As of 2014, if you are 21 years old or older, you can purchase medical marijuana for recreational uses. You are only allowed to have 1 ounce on your person. You can offer the marijuana you buy to others; but, you are not permitted to sell it anytime for a profit. This is against the law. You have to use the marijuana in your home. You are not allowed to smoke it freely in public places, nor are you authorized to drive under the influence of it either. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana in Seattle, contact our Seattle DUI attorney immediately.